TED Rule 1

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Hello world,

I’m a big fan of TED talks, the talks by clever people on “Ideas worth spreading”. If you don’t know TED, I can only recommend to have a look at TED.com and look at some of the most popular videos.

So I watched most of them, often getting inspired and wanting to do something about it on my own. After watching A.J. Jacobs’ year of living biblically, I got the idea. A.J. Jacobs is a journalist who likes to immerse himself into his topics, like a human guinea pig, and write about it. In My outsourced life, he decided to hire a team in Bangalore, India, to take care of every part of his life- from reading his emails to arguing with his wife to reading bedtime stories to his own son. In I Think You’re Fat, he chronicled an attempt to live his life in Radical Honesty, telling all the truth, all the time. And in this talk, he explains how he lived one year following all the rules from the bible.

“I cannot believe how much my behavior changes my thoughts […]. I almost pretended to be a better person and I became a little bit of a better person”

I decided to do (almost) the same: During one year, I will choose a TED talk every week, summarize its conclusions and apply them as rules to myself. Each new TED rule will add to the old ones, so at the end of the year I should follow 52. I will use this blog to present the talk of the week, how I applied it and how it impacted my life. Well, at least for the beginning: you can expect the blog to change in form as I respect more and more TED rules.

Regarding the quality of the TED talks, this experience can only be beneficial. And anyway, I’m the one choosing the rules! But feel free to influence me and send me some recommendations.

See you next week!

Mister Jo



Leave a Reply

